My 20th post which was supposed to be my first!!

Today’s daily prompt :Today, publish a post based on unused material from a previous piece –a paragraph you nixed, a link you didn’t include, a photo you decided not to use. Let your leftovers shine!

The below post was supposed to be my first post! But i felt it is too pretentious to be a ‘First’. Nobody would want to read it or care what i feel. But hey, who cares!! It is a leftover… Lets treat it that way. And incidentally this is my 20th post.

I was told when I was a child, that if I study hard, I will score good marks. If I score good marks, I will be selected in a better college. If I get a better college and do well there, I will get a better job, better pay. Today I have a nice job, good pay check, a wonderful life partner, a lovely family. But in spite of all these things, am I really contented? Am I really happy?

Childhood is the best time of life. A young, carefree mind has boundless imagination. No one teaches children how to be happy. Their Laugh is infectious; their heart is filled with innocent dreams. But as people grow old, they somehow lose the ability to stay happy. Why does this happen? If happiness is a state of mind why are so many people in the world unsatisfied?

I used to think I am the only one who is facing this issue, these silly doubts about the purpose of my life. But there are many and probably you will agree that at some point in your life, dear reader, you too had these thoughts in your mind. Some call it mid-life crisis. I chose to call it ‘The black hole’. A black hole is a place in space from which nothing can escape, not even light. Ain’t a negative thought like a black hole in our mind, which sucks up all our energy and positivity? In space, nothing can escape the gravitational pull of a black hole. But we can and should always avoid forming such a black hole in our mind by stealing joy from small moments of life rather than running behind bigger things.

When you get up in the morning, don’t miss out the dewdrops on your window panes. If you are commuting by local train, don’t forget to stand in the door and take the breeze on your face. Take a timeout from work to enjoy tea on a tea-stall (and a tea-stall only, not canteen!!). Don’t forget to share every highs and lows with your family on the dining table(May be they have gone through/ are going through similar phase of life). Hold your child close to your heart and feel his/her heartbeats. That is the best music in the world. Feel the softness of those fine hair, they will feel like silk. Their ongoing progress from rolling over to sitting to standing and finally walking teaches us that we have to constantly evolve. Still water is stale water. Flowing water is always fresh. Life is not as difficult as it seems, if you come to terms with it.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Leftovers Sandwich.”

One thought on “My 20th post which was supposed to be my first!!

  1. Very true
    We all (especially those who have gone through mid life crisis) know this, right?
    Everyone knows everything, its a basic instinct.
    Problem is in implementation. After all, its difficult not to wish for a “BIG” flat, car etc etc etc..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

