Survival instincts

Being the younger kid in the family ensured that i was spoilt and protected thoroughly. I never went to buy a hair pin alone, let alone other important things.

But when I was left alone in a new city ( which was incidentally much bigger and farther than my hometown), i first wondered if i could make it. I was there to study, but initially I had a lot more than study on my plate to deal with. I had to deal with people (an a lot of people, both in college and hostel) which i was not good at. I had to do all my chores on my own. Hardly could I visit my home. But by god’s grace, i have got very caring family. They used to visit me every once in a while, and called me on daily basis. This might not seem special to some. But I am talking about a time when mobile tariffs were sky-high and also, FYI- my hometown was 700 Km away from the city where I went for study.

Hostel is filled with many eccentricities. We too had many such mates. One was fearful and mellow and other couldn’t control her nerves. one was jolly, easygoing and another one always kept worrying over some thing or the other. I got to see many people at the time, good and bad, selfish and helpful too. I made some great friends, had differences with some. We made some foolish pacts (which we had no intentions to go through) and had some really fun filled moments. After spotting a worm in okra in my lunchbox and a heated confrontation with the lunch service provider, we have survived 15 days without afternoon meals. And we have also had feasts and parties on our birthday celebration. In a way my hostel mates were with me in sickness and health, in testing times as well as the funny moments.

So if I have made it through those years, I can easily survive anywhere.

And I have proved it again by surviving two and a half months in Mysore and a month in Chennai, for my job training. It isovery difficult to survive in these two cities as I’m completely oblivious to the regional languge.

I had a long way to go from a small town in Vidarbha to a metro city. But I guess survival instincts kicked in. Well, i made it here, and I feel proud about it!

“Desire, when it stems from the heart and spirit, when it is pure and intense, possesses awesome electromagnetic energy. This energy is released into the ether each night, as the mind falls into the sleep state. Each morning it returns to the conscious state reinforced with the cosmic currents. That which has been imaged will surely and certainly be manifested. You can rely, young man, upon this ageless promise as surely as you can rely upon the eternally unbroken promise of sunrise… and of Spring.”
A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, Wings of Fire

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Make It Anywhere.”

One thought on “Survival instincts

Leave a Reply

