IBMC #9 : Breaking the barriers

The IBMC #9 Prompt says:

As a baby everything around is new to them. They slowly learn things by keenly observing how each and everything is done. It’s a pleasure to watch a baby learn new things. They learn that they need to cry to get something. They learn that they need to put forward their hands to reach out for something. Many such slow incremental things accumulate in order.

Now the task is if you were to see something with a fresh new perspective, what would be it? Give a baby step to something and explore this new perception and dimension with your engaging thoughts. You can give a fresh meaning to a new word, sentence, concept or anything weird or meaningful.

Some time back, my nephew took a really innovative aptitude test. One of the section had an exercise, you were given one word, and you had to draw the first thing that came in your mind after reading the word. He was given the word : Tension. I would have drawn a haggard face, rubbing his forehead with his thumb and index fingers, depicting the ‘feeling’. Surely, I later found out that google image search agrees with me. Just look at the below picture:

And here’s what my nephew drew (Well not the same, but, pretty much the same):

 

Untitled

Which one is correct, do you say? Obviously both! But I wouldn’t have thought the second solution in a million years, at least not as my first thought! and I started wondering, why would I think about a negative feeling rather than a really simple and common concept in physics. Am I a negative person? No! Am I stressed out? Probably, but I know how to de-stress myself. I remember a time when , I too, like my nephew was full of innovative thoughts. Then what made me into this person, who subconsciously picks up a negative feeling over its much simpler and familiar homonym? And what is it that makes my nephew so full of simple yet amazing ideas?

Kids play, jump, run, fall, get up, shake the dust of their clothes and play again. We adults, after we fall, indulge ourselves in self-pity. Why don’t we think it as an inevitable event, shake the dust off and go about our task again? Have you ever seen two kids fighting? Sometimes their fight escalates to such an extent that adults need to intervene. But for how much time do you think the fight lasts? Not for long. They make up and resume playing with each other. What about us adults? We can hold a grudge for years! Isn’t it despicable? We teach them all the good habits and don’t follow most of the things. We tell kids TV, Laptop, Tabs, Smartphones are addictive and that they should avoid the temptation and do their homework. And when they sit across us doing their homework, we indulge in all these addictive things.

We limit ourselves by building boundaries around our thoughts. We think we have knowledge, but that knowledge should serve as a bridge to connect with new ideas, not as a fence, to limit our imagination.

So, if I can go back in time and change something, I will change the conditioning of my mind. I will try to become more open to different possibilities, let my thoughts lead me to the unknown, instead of me leading them to the (boring) known places.

 

 Incredible Blogger Marathon Challenge #09

9

2 thoughts on “IBMC #9 : Breaking the barriers

  1. This was fresh. Possibly I would have had the same image in mind. The one which your nephew had, would sure never occur in my mind!

    May be as we grow, we accumulate so many things with us that negatives kind of come as default. This reminds me of an era where arrival of post card was a sign of bad news. Well, On every note this post has a positive message!

    It was such a happy read.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

