If we were having coffee…

img_20160628_144042.jpg

If we were having coffee, it would be on a rainy day, just like today.

I’ll have my oversized Cyan umbrella by my side,

And I’ll gladly accommodate you, if you forgot to carry.

If we were having coffee, it would be a cappuccino for me, with a lot of crème.

I would ignore your disapproving nod.

Hey! I wouldn’t judge you if you eat the cupcake frosted with crème cheese.

If we were having coffee, it would be with a crunchy nutty cookie.

The one that melts in your mouth and fills your heart with glee.

I’ll take a sip and ask you about your day, and wait for you to ask me.

coffee-and-coffee-beans-close-up.jpg

If we were having coffee, I would tell you about my attachment to it,

And my friends, spread across the continents, Separated by Oceans and Sea

In Melbourne,  Chandigarh, Nevada, Chennai, Ohio,  Bangalore and New Jersey.

Our hectic days, well-deserved trips to CCD for our shared love of coffee.

I’ll tell you about the connection we had (or we still have).

I’ll tell how much I wish we would get back together and hang out for a day,

And if not a day, how I wish I could have with them, just a cup of coffee.

But I won’t do that, for I obviously don’t want you to get bored stiff.

So instead I’ll just ask you again, when can we meet for a cup of coffee?

Leave a Reply

